September 2015

The 21st Annual COMPACT Banquet honoring our amazing students teachers, mentors and alumni was held at the Rosen Centre Hotel in September. Awards were given to the Students of the Year, Mentors of the Year, scholarship winners, COMPACT alumni, the 2015 Washington DC Trip winners, and teachers.

Washington, DC Trip students receiving their awards

Scott Cunningham, third from the left, was recognized with the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Gary Mendoza from Dr. Phillips High School received the Bill Frederick Student of the Year Award.

Snaja Hartfield the 2015 COMPACT Chair addressed the audience.

The Distinguished COMPACT Alumni Award was awarded to Tenisha Bilbrew, Daphne Casimir, Scott Cunningham, Tiffany Davis, and Jennel Davoren. Pictured here are some of the recipients.

This year’s banquet was memorable because it also marked the retirement of long time Executive Director A. George Fuller. Mr. Fuller started as a mentor with the COMPACT Program in 1989. As Executive Director he was known for building community partnerships and for his untiring and dedicated support of the program’s students.  Mr. Fuller received the Bill Frederick’s Founder Award.

COMPACT Executive Director A. George Fuller (right) shakes the hand of Rocky Robinson (left) COMPACT Program Manager and the new COMPACT Executive Director.




February 2014

Please join us for the inaugural COMPACT Walk-a-thon to be held April, 11, 2015 at Dr. Phillips High School! All donations will support our COMPACT Scholarship Program. You can register online at this link: https://eventbrite.com/event/15946229602



2013 COMPACT BIll Frederick Students of the Year Sarah Marriott from Timber Creek High School (Left) and Souhaila Maichouf from Jones High School.

The 19th Annual COMPACT Banquet was held on September 19, 2013 at the Rosen Centre Hotel in Orlando. COMPACT students, mentors, teachers and supporters attended a reception, dinner and received awards. The program was hosted by Baker Hostetler.

Some photos from the event:

Juanita Reed (center), guidance counselor at Dr. Phillips High School, received the COMPACT Ambassador Award.

School Board member Kat Gordon (left) congratulates Jo Lynn Schall, TCHS recipient of the Providing the Light Mentor Award

The students of the year pose with their checks from Mayor Bill Frederick who is pictured the third from the right.

Some of the Washington, DC Trip Winners


Jones High School Color Guard

COMPACT Goes to Washington!

June 2013

Nineteen high achieving students representing five Orange County high schools traveled to Washington, DC June 8th through June 12th for five educational and culturally enriching days. The group visited sites and gained new experiences with friends new and old.

The group visited monuments and historical sites, including the Jefferson Memorial, the FDR Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Monument,the Arlington Cemetery and the Frederick Douglas House. Students also visited the Smithsonian Museums. They also enjoyed a dance performance at Dance Place, visited the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception and enjoyed a special brunch at the Bolling Air Force Base.

The highlight of the trip was a visit with Supreme Court Associate Justice Clarence Thomas. Justice Thomas met with the group in his inner chambers. After his inspiring talk he took time to answer questions.

Students posed at the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Monument.

Freedom High School students at the Supreme Court.

The group in front of the White House

Timber Creek High School students, twins Tayler and Timmon Herzberg presented Supreme Court Justice  Clarence Thomas with a birthday present and card.

Jones High School students at Bolling Air Force Base

Oak Ridge High School students with Supreme Court Associate Justice Thomas.

Students from Timber Creek, Acceleration Academy and Oak Ridge at the Bolling Air Force Base Officer’s Club.

Looking Forward to Another Great Year!

The 2012 COMPACT Washington, DC Trip winners pose with chaperones and COMPACT staff on the steps of the Supreme Court.

 A Message from COMPACT’s Executive Director, A. George Fuller

We’ve come a long way – 23 years! Twenty-three years of service to our students and to our community! Created in 1989 by former Orlando Mayor Bill Frederick, Orlando Orange County COMPACT began with 15 students and 15 mentors at Jones High School. Since inception about 11,000 students have been nurtured by COMPACT, including almost 600 for this school year,

This site offers a glimpse of our outstanding achievers – students like Linnet De Zayas of Acceleration Academy, our Bill Frederick High School Student of the Year winner and Samantha Lundy of Jones High School, our Lee Norris Rayam Scholarship recipient; and mentors like Sandra Trotter of Vista Lakes Elementary School, our Mentor of the Year. All the students, mentors and teachers/coordinators are shining examples of our COMPACT story.

We offer special thanks to all who have helped us help our young people: parents, mentors, teachers, administrators, and business and community partners; for this year and for all of our 23 years. Yes, we have come a long way!

Welcome to the new COMPACT website!

Starla Milhoan, Mentor of the Year for 2010-2011 holding her award and pictured with, left to right: Erin Braun, COMPACT Board Chair and Volunteer of the Year for 2010-2011; McKinley Aime, one of Mrs. Milhoan’s several mentees at Orlo Vista Elementary School; and George Fuller, Executive Director.

We are excited to launch our new and improved website. Please take a look around!